FG Approves Three New Polytechnics Amidst ASUP's Strike Threat

Approval has been given by the Federal Government for the establishment of three new federal polytechnics.

This was confirmed in a statement released by the director of press and public relations of the Federal Ministry of Education, Ben Goong in Abuja on Tuesday.

The statement stated that the three federal polytechnics would be situated in Abia, Delta and Kano states.

The approval of the new institutions came a few weeks after the Academic Staff Union of Polytechnics issued threats of a strike to the Federal Government for failing to revitalise the existing polytechnics in the country.

ASUP’s president, Anderson Ezeibe who spoke with members of his union in Yola, Adamawa state stated that his members should be ready to go on strike.

But the education ministry stated that the establishment of the new polytechnics was in line with the President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari’s (retd) determination to make tertiary education more accessible.

“In line with his determination to make tertiary education more accessible, President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the establishment of three New Federal Polytechnics in the country.

“Director, Press and Public Relations, Federal Ministry of Education, Ben Bem Goong, said the Polytechnics are to be sited in Umunnoechi in Abia State, Orogun in Delta State and Kabo in Kano State.

“The new Institutions are to commence academic activities in October 2022. This brings to 36 the number of Federal Polytechnics in the country. All States of the Federation now have one Federal Polytechnic each,” the statement said.

Post a Comment